Please click above

to give us a rating

Related Books
Last One!
Very Rare!
Come and Find Me written by Sarah Hilary performed by Imogen Church on Audio CD (Unabridged)

Come and Find Me written by Sarah Hilary performed by Imogen Church on Audio CD (Unabridged)£59.99

Gripping, tense, twisty and full of emotional insight, Come and Find Me is the fifth book in Sarah Hilary's Marnie Rome series, for fans of Mick Herron or Clare Mackintosh. On the surface, Lara Chorley and Ruth Hull have nothing in common, other than their infatuation with Michael Vokey. Each is writing to a...

Find Me Unafraid - Love, Loss and Hope in an African Slum written by Kennedy Odede and Jessica Posner performed by Korey Jackson and Mandy Siegfried on Audio CD (Unabridged)

Last One!
Very Rare!
Find Me Unafraid - Love, Loss and Hope in an African Slum written by Kennedy Odede and Jessica Posner performed by Korey Jackson and Mandy Siegfried on Audio CD (Unabridged)
  Zoom
Our Price:  £29.99Earn 29 Loyalty Points
+

ISBN:  9781504648370
Genre - Main:  Non-Fiction
Genre - Specific:  Memoir
Duration:  675 mins
Length:  Unabridged
Author:  Kennedy Odede and Jessica Posner
Narrator 1:  Korey Jackson
Narrator 2:  Mandy Siegfried
Rarity:  Rare

Availability:  

  


We are currently running a special offer leading to FREE UK postage on all orders of 40 or more


Find Me Unafraid tells the uncommon love story between two uncommon people whose collaboration sparked a successful movement to transform the lives of vulnerable girls and the urban poor. With a Foreword by Nicholas Kristof. This is the story of two young people from completely different worlds: Kennedy Odede from Kibera, the largest...

slum in Africa, and Jessica Posner from Denver, Colorado.

Kennedy foraged for food, lived on the street, and taught himself to read with old newspapers. When an American volunteer gave him the work of Mandela, Garvey, and King, teenaged Kennedy decided he was going to change his life and his community. He bought a soccer ball and started a youth empowerment group he called Shining Hope for Communities (SHOFCO).

Then in 2007, Wesleyan undergraduate Jessica Posner spent a semester abroad in Kenya working with SHOFCO. Breaking all convention, she decided to live in Kibera with Kennedy, and they fell in love.Their connection persisted, and Jessica helped Kennedy to escape political violence and fulfill his lifelong dream of an education, at Wesleyan University.

The alchemy of their remarkable union has drawn the support of community members and celebrities alike--The Clintons, Mia Farrow, and Nicholas Kristof are among their fans--and their work has changed the lives of many of Kibera's most vulnerable population: its girls.

Jess and Kennedy founded Kibera's first tuition-free school for girls, a large, bright blue building, which stands as a bastion of hope in what once felt like a hopeless place. But Jessica and Kennedy are just getting started--they have expanded their model to connect essential services like health care, clean water, and economic empowerment programs.

They've opened an identical project in Mathare, Kenya's second largest slum, and intend to expand their remarkably successful program for change.

Ultimately this is a love story about a fight against poverty and hopelessness, the transformation made possible by a true love, and the power of young people to have a deep impact on the world.

Be the first to Write a Review for this item!