Please click above

to give us a rating

Related Books
Last One!
Rare!
Emerald Green written by Kerstin Gier performed by Marisa Calin on Audio CD (Unabridged)

Emerald Green written by Kerstin Gier performed by Marisa Calin on Audio CD (Unabridged)£29.99

Gwen has a destiny to fulfill, but no one will tell her what it is. She's only recently learned that she is the Ruby, the final member of the time-traveling Circle of Twelve, and since then nothing has been going right. She suspects the founder of the Circle, Count Saint-German, is up to something nefarious, but nobody will believe her. And she's just learned that her charming time-traveling partner...

Elizabeth and Margaret - The Intimate World of the Windsor Sisters written by Andrew Morton performed by Marisa Calin on Audio CD (Unabridged)

Last One!
Very Rare!
Elizabeth and Margaret - The Intimate World of the Windsor Sisters written by Andrew Morton performed by Marisa Calin on Audio CD (Unabridged)
  Zoom
Our Price:  £59.99Earn 59 Loyalty Points
+

ISBN:  9781549178854
Genre - Main:  Non-Fiction
Genre - Specific:  Biography
Duration:  660 mins
Length:  Unabridged
Author:  Andrew Morton
Performer 1:  Marisa Calin
Rarity:  Extremely Rare

Availability:  

  


We are currently running a special offer leading to FREE UK postage on all orders of 40 or more


Perfect for fans of The Crown, this captivating biography from a New York Times bestselling author follows Queen Elizabeth II and her sister Margaret as they navigate life in the royal spotlight. They were the closest of sisters and the best of friends. But when, in a quixotic twist of fate, their uncle Edward Vlll decided to abdicate the throne, the dynamic between Elizabeth and Margaret was dramatically altered. Forever more Margaret would have to curtsey to the sister she...

called 'Lillibet.' And bow to her wishes. Elizabeth would always look upon her younger sister's antics with a kind of stoical amusement, but Margaret's struggle to find a place and position inside the royal system&;and her fraught relationship with its expectations and was often a source of tension.

Famously, the Queen had to inform Margaret that the Church and government would not countenance her marrying a divorcee, Group Captain Peter Townsend, forcing Margaret to choose between keeping her title and royal allowances or her divorcee lover. From the idyll of their cloistered early life, through their hidden war-time lives, into the divergent paths they took following their father's death and Elizabeth's ascension to the throne, this book explores their relationship over the years.

Andrew Morton's latest biography offers unique insight into these two drastically different sisters one resigned to duty and responsibility, the other resistant to it&;and the lasting impact they have had on the Crown, the royal family, and the ways it adapted to the changing mores of the 20th century.

Be the first to Write a Review for this item!